Future Updates to the Aquaponics Greenhouse..


I always figured that once I got to the growing stage of my build, things might taper off on the project front. As things currently stand, I’m still needing to add about 4-6 more grow beds. But I’m also thinking about other items that will be needing to be addressed within the next few months.

SOLAR WATER HEATER


The first item that has come up on the radar has to do with keeping my fish tanks/grow bed water at a higher temperature during the cooler fall/winter months coming up. I thank my friend John for bringing this idea to light.

My buddy happened upon a system which works simply by running water through black hosing along a fence line and then returning that water to the tank in some fashion (see example above – not my system by the way).

Normally, Talapia can handle rather colder water temps without issue to their survival. What does crop up is their ability to grow. Optimum temperatures for Talapia would be an 83-87F degree water temperature. At this temperature, the fish are in their ‘happy zone’, which means they eat the most and grow the fastest at this temperature range. Currently my water temps are now hovering between 75-78F degrees. So a noticeable change of nearly 10 degrees has occurred just in the past month. I had thought burying the tank would offset this much of a change (which it does, but it just progresses more slowly), but I didn’t take into account (or at least didn’t put much concern into) the flow of the water from the tank through the plumbing and grow beds. These actually act to help heat or cool the water depending on surrounding temps.

The main expense is limited to the tubing and connectors and then running the lines in an area that can collect the suns rays throughout most of the day. This system also has the added element that the cinder block upon which it is laying can also act as thermal mass storing heat to some degree. So even after the sun sets or gets shaded over by clouds, there is still heating going on to the fluid flowing withing the lines.

FISH TANK & GREENHOUSE LIGHTING

Another project I’d like to tackle in the near future has to do with setting up some type of lighting for both the fish tank and the greenhouse itself. For both I’d ideally want them to be running on a 12 volt system running off a battery and using a solar panel(s).

For these items, I’m most likely going to purchase them over the counter, versus trying to build them from scratch myself. My electrical know-how is limited at best and I’d rather not electrocute my fish ;)

I did make an attempt at adding lighting into the tank using a rope light, but found that it created too much reflection on the waters surface to see the fish. It will need to be waterproof and submerged to be truly effective at seeing what the fish are up to at night.

For the greenhouse my thought is either using rope lighting or possibly LED Christmas lights running off an inverter. This will keep the setup simple and since its modular I can add/remove strings as needed and place them along the PVC ribs of the greenhouse itself. I can also setup a switching element near the entry way to turn them on or off.

Posted on October 26, 2012, in Aquaponics, Garden, Get Motivated, Greenhouse, Inspiration, Solar, Talapia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I drop a leave a response each time I appreciate a post
    on a site or if I have something to contribute to the conversation.
    It is a result of the sincerness displayed in the
    post I browsed. And on this article Future Updates to the Aquaponics Greenhouse.
    . | Urban Farm Fanatic. I was excited enough to post a thought :-P I
    do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be just me or do some of the responses come across like coming from brain dead folks? :-P And, if you are posting at additional online social sites, I’d like to keep up with you.

    Would you list the complete urls of your shared pages
    like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

    • Thanks for the Kudos on the post. I got inspired by others and figured the best way to give back was to do the same thing on my part. As for additional online social sites, I like to visit http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/ to glean ideas and ask questions of others.

      I haven’t made an recent update for a while, but plan on getting back into the swing of things in the next few months with Summer fast approaching.

      Good luck to you in your endeavors! :)

  2. wonderful publish, very informative. I’m wondering why the opposite experts of this sector don’t notice this.
    You must proceed your writing. I am confident,
    you have a great readers’ base already!

    • I try my best to take what I’ve learned and add to the pool of knowledge for AP. Its a wonderful hobby and gives me a great sense of accomplishment. I do plan to post further updates in the next few months. Been busy with work and family. So got a bit sidetracked as of late ;)

  3. Hey there, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website in Chrome, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some
    overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, superb blog!

    • Its possible. Though that’s one of the reasons I went with a WordPress blog. Figure I’d let them straighten out those issues. Got plenty on my plate (and web coding is not one of them) ;)

      Thanks for the Kudos! Labor of love, they do make the best blog material :)

  4. Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Very helpful information specially the last part :) I care for such info a lot. I was seeking this certain information for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers

